Music for the Renaissance Faire

String Orchestra

Music for the Renaissance Faire

Composed by

Tielman Susato & Giorgio Mainerio

Arranged By

Mekel Rogers

Edited By

J. Cameron Law

Music for the Renaissance Faire is a miniature suite for young string orchestra that can be used as a festival piece or as a contrasting selection for concerts.  The two movements in the suite are arrangements of authentic dances from the Renaissance Period.  Les Quatre Branles was written by Tielman Susato in the 1570s.  Susato lived as a composer and publisher in Belgium.  His widely known dance music would have been performed at courts all over Europe.  Schiarazula Marazula is a medieval folk dance which was transcribed in 1582 by Italian composer Giorgio Mainerio.  The music begins at a moderate tempo but gradually increases in speed with each repetition.  Feel free to experiment with tempi to create variety in performance.  An optional tambourine part in both dances adds an additional Renaissance flavor to the piece.
Listen, Download, and View

Click the play button (left) to listen to this piece. If you want to download a copy to play off-line, just register and log-in.
Score for Music for the Renaissance Faire


(click on the PDF icon/s above to view/download score)


Product Number: GMMOR219

Price: $ 0.00


Grade: Grade 2

Extra Score Product Number: GMMOR219SC

Extra Score Price $ 6.00